Minimum wage: FG names 37-member committee

Spread the love

The Federal Government is set to commission a 37-member Tripartite Committee on National Minimum Wage, to recommend a new National Minimum Wage for the Nigeria.

This is contained in statement by Mr Segun Imohiosen, Director, Information, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation(OSGF) in Abuja.

He said the committee, scheduled to be commissioned on Jan. 30, would be under the chairmanship of Alhaji Bukar Goni Aji, former Head of the Civil Service of the Federation.

According to him, the committee will be made up of different stakeholders including the federal government, state government, Organised Labour and the private sector.

He said members of the committee from the Federal Government, include Mrs Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, Minister of State, Labour and Employment (Representing Hon. Minister of Labour and Employment), Mr. Wale Edun, Minister of Finance & Coordinating Minister of the Economy.

Others according to him are, Alhaji Atiku Bagudu, Minister of Budget Economic Planning; Dr.Yemi Esan, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; Dr. Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri, Permanent Secretary, OSGF; Ekpo Nta, Chairman, National Salaries and Wages Commission (NSIWC), Secretary.

See also  Herders/crop farmers clash: Senate condoles with Kogi communities, to convoke national summit

The director further said members from the State Government include Alh. Mohammed Umar Bago, Governor, Niger State- representative from North Central;
Sen. Bala Mohammed, Governor Bauchi State- representative from North East.

Others according to him are Alh. Umar Dikko Radda, Governor Katsina State- representative from North West
Prof. Charles Soludo, Governor, Anambra State- representative from the South East, Sen. Ademola Adeleke, Governor, Osun State- representative from South West.

Others are, Mr. Otu Bassey Edet, Governor, Cross River State- representative from South West.

Meanwhile, members representing the Nigeria Labour Congress(NLC) according to the director are, Mr Joe Ajaero, President, Mr Emmanuel Ugboaja, Mr Prince Adeyanju Adewale, Mr Ambali Akeem Olatunji, Mr Benjamin Anthony, Prof. Theophilius Ndukuba.

He also said members from the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC) include Mr Festus Osifo, President, Dr Tommy Etim Okon, Deputy President I, Mr Kayode Surajudeen Alakija, Deputy President II, Mr Jimoh Oyibo, Deputy President. III, Mr Nuhu A. Toro, Secretary-General,
Hafusatu Shuaib.

See also  Hello world!

Imohiosen, who also listed other members from other sectors of the economy, urged members to be early to process their clearance at the Security Gate before the commencement of the event.

He further said, “a shuttle bus will be available at the Pilot Gate to convey members to the venue.

“In addition, members of the committee are to contact the Head of the Secretariat, Mr. Chiadi Adighiogu, Director (Compensation) in the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission for information”.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top