By-election: IGP orders restriction of movement in 26 states

Spread the love

The Inspector General of Police(IGP), Kayode Egbetokun, has ordered the restriction of all forms of transportation between 12:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Saturday, Febuary 3 in the 26 states where by-elections would be conducted.

This is contained in a statement by the Force Public Relations Officer, Olumuyiwa Adejobi in Abuja.

The affected states are Nassarawa, Cross River, Ebonyi,Taraba, Bayelsa, Yobe, Sokoto, Enugu, Kebbi, Katsina, Lagos, Ondo, Delta, Benue, Borno, Kano, Kaduna, Plateau, Akwa Ibom, Jigawa, Anambra, Jigawa, Zamfara, Adamawa, Bauchi, Niger, Oyo.

Olumuyiwa said the IGP had further banned all security aides to Very Important Personalities(VIPs) and escorts from accompanying their principals and politicians to polling booths and collation centers during the elections.

He added that state owned security outfits, quasi-security units and privately owned guard as well as security outfits were also barred from participating in election security management.

According to him, the measure has become necessary to forestall undue interference or intimidation, as well as protect the integrity of the electoral process.

See also  Ombugadu loses as Supreme Court affirms Gov. Sule's election

The force spokesperson, however, said those on essential duties would be exempted from the restriction order.

He said those exempted included officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), accredited media as well as foreign and domestic observers.

Others according to him are, firefighters, medical team, ambulances and firefighters amongst others.

He called on political parties, candidates and their supporters to conduct themselves in accordance with the electoral laws.

The force spokeperson warned that any attempt to “disrupt the electoral process or violate the established guidelines will be met with the full force of the law.”

He called on Nigerians to report any suspicious activities that may undermine the electoral process to the appropriate authorities.

He urged Nigerians to contact the following phone numbers in the event of any suspicious activities; 08034040439 (CP Elections); 08031230631 (Toll Free).

Others according to him are; 08057000001, 08057000002 (Complaint Response Unit); @ngpolice (Facebook); @PoliceNG (X); [email protected] (e-mail).

See also  Insecurity-Military arrests 330 persons, neutralises 188

Olumuyiwa assured that the Police would work toward ensuring a secure and democratic society.

He expressed confidence that the elections would be peaceful, transparent and in line with the principles of democracy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top